Lebanon: bent but not broken

Pictures of destruction saturate the media.
I thought I’ll post different photos today. I took a stroll today in some of the areas in Beirut that are not shelled (not yet and hopefully not).
The first three pictures are in the neighborhood of my house (yesterday before the shelling at 2AM this morning).
The rest are in the neighborhood of where I am now: Bristol Area, Hamra St, Rouche and the Corniche.
I miss the crowds (and I mean these areas used to be really crowded), I miss the noise pollution, the traffic jams, the crazy Lebanese way of driving and the insults of the cab drivers. These were characteristics of the Beirut we grew used to.
There were others strolling, fishing or playing tennis.

Update: I just heard to very strong explosive sounds here in Beirut. I can also here sirens outside.






24 comments

  1. khadijah · · Reply

    That is so good to hear. I am glad to hear that pearl of a city has not been totally destroyed by the Israelis

  2. Anarchistian · · Reply

    I miss Hamra St. Thanks for the pics. Be safe. And keep us updated!

  3. I love Munich · · Reply

    What was that big explosion you heard? Bombing?? WATCH YOURSELF!!The streets are ominously empty and I can well imagine you miss the buzzling life there …I salute the people though … and I salute YOU – for taking the initiative and continue to update all of us of what’s going on, how the situation is – and adding your own impressions and thoughts! You are doing such a FANTASTIC and very importanr job … you’re GREAT!!STAY STRONG … may Allah protect you!!

  4. khadijah · · Reply

    <> STAY STRONG … may Allah protect you!! <> I second that sentiment.

  5. Zalabya · · Reply

    god bless lebanon

  6. Anonymous · · Reply

    HEZZBOLAH, SYRIA AND IRAN ARE THE ONES TO BLAME!!!!

  7. khadijah · · Reply

    <>HEZZBOLAH, SYRIA AND IRAN ARE THE ONES TO BLAME!!!! <>Will you stop with the US/Israeli propaganda? Thanks

  8. the perpetual refugee · · Reply

    God Bless Lebanon.God Bless the Lebanese people.Stay safe Bashir.

  9. khadijah · · Reply

    <> Stay safe Bashir. <>I agree, thanks for this wonderful blogsite

  10. Anonymous · · Reply

    Hallo Bashir,I came across your website. I cannot believe what I am seeing happening in Lebanon again today. Take care of yourself and your family. I am posting the following link for you:http://www.godsdirectcontact.org/?I do hope that you find some hope and comfort from the info provided.With Masters Love and Blessings.

  11. RoxieAmerica · · Reply

    The truth: Hezballah is a part of the Lebanon government. Hezballah had a chance to disarm, use the State of Lebanon Military for protection, and declined, and instead increased their arms. Hezballah mixes their members in the population. Hezballah has chosen these things, then cries fowl when Isreal makes war, and blames Isreal when Lebanese people are killed, when Hezballah is responsible for endangering the citizens of Lebanon. Hezballah is a radical religious group bent on pushing their radical religion on the world and represent a danger to the whole world, as would any radical religious group – remember the radical Christian crusaders that had to be eventually driven out by wiser minds. History is full of such. Hezballah is hiding behind the women and children they are hiding among, and wish the world believe their choice to consider the population of Lebanon lambs for slaughter for their cause should not be considered. If Hezballah wishes to have peace, they should disarm, and participate in government as civilized rational humans instead of blood thirsty religious zealots bent on hate, death and destruction.

  12. Dietz · · Reply

    Bashir,I am an American and I want to apologize for my governments support for the extreme and inhumane actions of Israel as well as my governments refusal to push for a cease fire. Knowing that inocents are suffering with the tacit aproval of my national leaders is tearing me apart. Just know that there is a growing sentiment of anger with both the Bush and Olmert administrations in the United States.My hopes and prayers are with you as with all in Lebanon.

  13. Anonymous · · Reply

    Revelation 3:9Peace!God is Love

  14. Kellyelli · · Reply

    Lebanon is one of the most beautiful countries I’ve been to. Thanks for showing me that Israel hasn’t destroyed all of my favourite places. These types of photos don’t really flow with the angle CNN is trying to present.

  15. lotusnpearls · · Reply

    Alternative LivingChange your heart, Change your diet,No more killing, Be healthy and loving.http://al.godsdirectcontact.org/

  16. usaCHRISTIAN · · Reply

    i am an american and i dont know if this is the right spot to scream but i have to scream SOMEWHERES!!!! I JUST NEED TO SAY THAT I AM OUTRAGED!!!!! OUTRAGED AT MY FELLOW AMERICAN CITIZENS WHO ARE NOW “STUCK” IN LEBANON!!! NOT ALL OF YOU. JUST THE AMERICANS WHO MADE IT A CHOICE TO GO OVER THERE!!!!! IT IS WELL KNOWN THROUGHOUT THE WORLD THAT THE MIDDLE EAST IS VERY UNSTABLE!!!! AND BEING FULLY AWARE OF THIS THESE AMERICANS “CHOSE” TO GO OVER THERE ANYHOW!!!!! CHOSE OF THEIR OWN FREE WILL!!!! WHETHER WAR IS IMMENENT ANYYYWHERES OVER THERE OR NOT…..REGUARDLESS IT IS UNSTABLE!!!! PERIOD!!!! AND NOW WHEN THINGS GET BAD THEY HAVE THE NERVEEEE TO CUSS MY USA GOVT FOR NOT SNAPPING THEIR FINGERS FAST ENOUGH TO GO BAIL THEIR STUPID SELVES OUT OF THERE!!!!! HOWWW DARE YOU!!!!! AND REMEMBER!!!! THIS IS MYYYY TAX PAYING DOLLARS BAILING YOUR STUPID SELVES OUT OF THERE!!!!! “YOU” CHOSE TO GO THERE KNOWINGGGG HOW UNSTABLE THE MIDDLE EAST IS!!!!! SO DONT YOU DARE CUSS YOUR GOVT NOW!!!!! PEOPLE THERE ARE SUFFERING TREMENDOUS HORRIBLE DEVASTATIONS!!!! THEY HAD NO CHOICE!!!! YOU DID!!!!! SO AGAIN, HOWWWW DARE YOU SCREAM & CUSS BECAUSE WE’RE NOT JUMPING FAST ENOUGH FOR YOU!!!!!! AND I AM ONLY TALKING ABOUT THOSE WHO DID MAKE IT A “CHOICE” TO GO. I SAW ON THE NEWS 1 AMERICAN WOMAN OVER THERE SHAKING HER FIST SCREAMING “THIS IS NOT TOLERABLE!!!” SCREAMING TO THE US GOVT BECAUSE “SHE” MADE A CHOICE TO GO THERE AND NOW THEY ARENT MOVING FAST “ENOUGH” FOR HER!!!! HOW DAREEE YOU!!!! YOU MAKE ME ASHAMED!!!!!

  17. Anonymous · · Reply

    usaCHRISTIAN:You really need to relax and take alook at yourself in the mirror. For someone who claims to be christian, you’rereally not showing any patience. Maybe you need to study the bible abit more, before you post your anger, and learnto manage it.

  18. usaCHRISTIAN · · Reply

    anonymous, MY HOLY BIBLE tells me i have a right feel be anger & be upset when i see injustice!!! and i see injustice in this issue!!!! ESPECIALLY WHEN SO MANY OTHERS WHO HAVE NO CHOICE BEING THERE ARE SUFFERING!!!! AGAIN, THEY HAD A “CHOICE”. so, i have a right to own my feelings. so dont judge me as a CHRISTIAN because ummm last i knew ONLY JESUS HAS THAT JOB.

  19. Habib · · Reply

    The 2 Israeli Arab Children that were bombed and killed in Nazereth it is said that the Missle came from Nazereth Elit which is the Jewish upper Nazereth. The Arabs live in Lower Nazereth at the bottom..Of the Valley. It sounds like the Yehude is trying to Ignite strife among the Israeli Arabs as well they want them out of Israel as well. They will do anything to get rid of any Arab wether they are Christian, Muslim or Druze..This is not a religious war this is an Ethnic war..

  20. Anonymous · · Reply

    I am at the Washington Post and wanted to chat with you. Please send me an email at postglobal@washingtonpost.com. Look at our coverage of Lebanon at blog.washingtonpost.com/postglobal. We would love your input there, and beyond. My best wishes for your safety.

  21. Anonymous · · Reply

    I am at the Washington Post and wanted to chat with you. Please send me an email at postglobal@washingtonpost.com. Look at our coverage of Lebanon at blog.washingtonpost.com/postglobal. We would love your input there, and beyond. My best wishes for your safety.

  22. Anonymous · · Reply

    To MR. HABIB. It was not about targeting Arabs and starting ethnic war. No, No, No. It obvious to all it was the soccer the children were playing was the target and the reason someone would attack. That is the ONLY logical reason. Really! You can see the logic. No?

  23. Anonymous · · Reply

    Thank you for posting such wonderful photos of Beirut. I’m a Lebanese-American (my mother is from Lebanon), and the last time I was there was June of 2001. I fondly remember Rouche and Hamra, running along the beach boardwalk next to the road. What a beautiful place, and what a shame that such a beautiful country with kind people are victims of the senseless violence in the region. Take care and be careful.

  24. Anonymous · · Reply

    Mr. Habib You are correct. It did come from Upper Nazri and yes they were targeting the Arab Lower Nazri. The Yehude do want to get rid of the Arab in Israel and yes the children that were killed in Nazareth were killed by Yehude Morter bomb. Ahlan

Leave a Reply

