Day 9

Mira, my wife, wrote this yesterday. I had to give in to her nagging and post this today:

Last night my husband broke my heart.

He wasn’t worried about the “childhood playground” he had lost few days ago anymore or about our house being occupied by some displaced. Nor was he anxious about finding a new house for his parents when the aggression is over (hope before I give birth!)

For the first time, I saw anguish on his face. “If the house (his parents’) is totally on the ground as I have been told today, then there won’t be any pictures of Nazem left.”

You see, Nazem is Moussa’s eldest brother. He died last December. He was only 47.

So this morning, we went to Hadath to see if damage had occurred to our house (yesterday, Israeli airplanes raided this peaceful place). I should count my blessings, for none had occurred to our house. I suppose one house per family is enough!

Leaving, I convinced Moussa (through the use of powerful weapon: “nagging”) to go over to his parents’ house in Beir Abed to see if it was totally demolished (that being relative- demolished as can’t live in it anymore or still standing!).

The car couldn’t park near the house (I am sure you can figure out why!). We had to go over piles of broken glass, stones and bricks until we finally reached our designation.

Guess what!

Part of the house was still there, proudly standing from beneath the rumbles.

I could almost see the pictures.

Hope has risen again.

4 comments

  1. I love Munich · · Reply

    Believe me, I was so moved when I read this post … I had tears in my eyes!! I feel so terribly helpless and would so much do just ANYTHING which could help or give relieve!When, Mira, will you deliver? Where can you go? BY GOD I wish them to hell for what they do to ALL of you … STAY STRONG GUYS – WE’RE ALL WITH YOU!!

  2. usaCHRISTIAN · · Reply

    JESUS LOVES YOU MIRA…….TURN TO HIM & PRAY TO HIM. ASK HIM INTO YOUR LIFE AS YOUR SAVIOR. AND THEN HE WILLLLL BRING YOU THREW THIS SAFELY. AND GIVE YOU A BEAUTIFUL PERFECTLY HEALTHY BABY. IF YOU TURN TO HIM IN THE MOST ABSOLUTE PERFECT TRUST IN HIM…..I PROMISE YOU THIS!!!! I LOVE YOU MY SISTER & I AM PRAYING FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY.

  3. this was so heartfelt ;(.Pictures capture moments. Moments that sometimes make up our lives.Bashir, wish you all the best!

  4. M.N.Bey · · Reply

    My Brothers and Sisters in Lebanon.Lebanon today looks like Ogonz ave in west Philadelphia in the united states in 1985, collective punishment, against a weak people,( the lebnese government and african americans), executed by a proxy force, (the police and Israel), the punish a rebelious few, ( Hizbollah and Move)we are with you, you are not alone, you are not forgotten.Be strong…you will out live them!!SalaamBrother Muhammad

Leave a Reply

