Mother Teresa’s Faith Crisis

Although she publicly proclaimed that her heart belonged “entirely to the Heart of Jesus”, she wrote to the Rev Michael Van Der Peet, a spiritual confidant, in September 1979 that

Jesus has a very special love for you. As for me, the silence and emptiness is so great that I look and do not see, listen and do not hear. The tongue moves [in prayer] but does not speak.

She added: “I am told God loves me, and yet the reality of the darkness and coldness and emptiness is so great that nothing touches my soul. Did I make a mistake in surrendering blindly to the Call of the Sacred Heart?

Leave a Reply

