African Maids Abused in Lebanon

“Driven by poverty and conflict in their home countries, women from Africa travel to Lebanon only to find themselves hungry, abused, raped and subjected to conditions akin to slavery.”

“Amira is 25 years old. She comes from the Democratic Republic of Congo. “One time, Madame found dust on the furniture. She told me that the house was dirty like my skin.”

For four years Amira has been confined to the apartment of her employers — only leaving to take out the trash. She came to Lebanon as a domestic worker on a six-year contract due to ongoing conflict in her country. Awakened daily at 5.30 am, she is subjected to 18 hours of back-breaking labour without time off.”

[snip]

“Sixteen-year old Elisa is from Ethiopia. Her mother died last year, and six months ago she came to Lebanon to work and send money home to her family. For 100 dollars per month she maintains five houses a day.

“When I started work with this family I was sexually abused all the time by the father of my employer. The kids would beat me everyday and I would try to explain to Madame but she wouldn’t do anything. Sometimes the father would come to sleep with me and threaten that if I refused he would beat me. So I left the house.””
more >>>

Also at BBC:
Burundian’s ordeal in Lebanon
Ethiopian maids ‘abused in Middle East’

Leave a Reply

