Leila angrily battles injustice and cancer

It’s time for me to be honest and quit keeping silent in the face of the world’s miseries.

I am very angry.

I am angry at what my government has done in my name; I am angry at the State of Israel; I am angry at right-wing Lebanese who call themselves Christians and yet flout the teachings of Jesus; I am angry at anybody who uses violence: suicide bombers, fighter jet bombers, cluster bombs, suitcase bombs.

I am angry at what Republicans and Democrats have done to democracy in this country. I am angry at what we are all doing to the natural world for our own selfish greediness.

I am angry that I got cancer and I am angry that many women in my country can’t get treated properly for their illnesses because our health care delivery system is so screwed up.

I am angry at what happened in Nahr-al-Bared this summer, and I am angry at all the militaristic jingoistic people in America and Lebanon who think that their soldiers do anything to “protect” them.

This list could go on and on.

I am not going to be polite and hold it in any longer.
I am not going to let my anger kill me.
And I am not going to die of cancer because Lebanon is in agony.
Lebanon has been in agony for much of my life.
I have taken it too much to heart

Is cancer a disease of anger?

…part of what my blogger friend Leila Abu-Saba said in her post about her recurring case of cancer. She beat it the last time. She will beat it this time. She has the support of her family, friends and of her optimistic doctors.

Leila, force that cancerous anger out of the dove.

4 comments

  1. Thank you so much, Moussa…

  2. Ibn Bint Jbeil · · Reply

    peace to moussa and leila and eid moubarak to all.

  3. good luck Leila!

  4. Hang in there Leila – sending you many truckloads of strength!!!Thanks so much Moussa for posting that – do you think Leila would allow me to copy that to MY blog as well? I’d really love to …

Leave a Reply

